Masindi district LCV chairperson survives being impeached


    Cosmas Byaruhanga File photo

    Cosmas Byaruhanga, the Masindi district LCV chairperson has survived being impeached after the district council speaker Moses Kirya dismissed a petition in which 13 councilors were pushing to remove him from office.

    Thirteen Councilors  out of 23 being led by the district councilor Bwijanga Sub county, Juliusa Kahira, petitioned the office of the speaker on the 3rd of October 2019 seeking to removes Byaruhanga from office accusing him of incompetence, corruption, implementing unlawful decisions and abuse of office.

    Addressing journalists in the council chambers today, Moses Kirya, the district council speaker noted that he received the petition through the clerk to council, Fred Kisembo adding that the petition is provided for and implementable by his office.

    He however, explained that the petition is null and avoid since the petitioners failed to follow the rightful procedures during the whole process. He added that the petition was supposed to be supervised by his office through the office of the eclerk to council adding that the sergeant at arms was also supposed to witness it. He said none of his officials witnessed the signing.

    He said the whole process was supposed to be done in his office and he doesn’t know where the councilors appended their signatures on the petition from. He added that the councilors had realized the number to impeach the district chairman but they faulted in the procedures.

    Kirya advised the petitioners to redo the whole process in case they are still interested and guided them involve the clerk to council’s office in whatever they are doing.

    The thirteen councilors who are pushing for the removal of the district chairperson from his office include; Julius Kahira the chief petitioner and the male councilor representing Bwijanga Sub County, Julian Ayesiga Sarah the councilor representing Miirya Sub County,  Kanagunagi Ateenyi and Gladys Matwarwa the  councilors for Pakanyi Sub County, William Mwambu the male councilor representing Male PWDs and Zebby Baitwaki Kageye the female councilor representing the elderly people and Joseph Wamani the district male youth councilor.

    Others are Pascal Businge the Male councilor representing Kigulya division, Monica Asiimwe the female councilor representing Kigulya division, Kirya Bonny the councilor representing Nyangahya division, Grace Kunihira the female councilor representing Karujubu division, Denis Tumwine and Gladys Namande the councilors representing workers.

    Speaking to our reporter on phone, Julius Kahira the chief petitioner insisted that they followed the rightful procedures while doing everything adding that what they wanted was the speaker to receive their petition.

    He added that once the speaker fails to do the necessary him and his team they are going to deliver their petition to the ministry of local government explaining that it is the ministry which will explain to them the rightful procedure.

    The councilors started the move to impeach the district chairman after he closed the office of the chief administrative Officer, John Nyakahuma on the 9th September 2019 accusing him of corruption, incompetence and crippling service delivery.

    Byaruhanga closed the office of the CAO after the district council directed him to do so with immediate effect. The same council also suspended all expenditures except salaries, it also recommended for the CAO’s transfer.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here